# MINUTES OF CEREMONIAL COUNCIL

Friday, 27 May 2022 (7:53 - 8:15 pm)

## PRESENT

Cllr Faruk Choudhury (Chair) Cllr Irma Freeborn (Deputy Chair)

Cllr Dorothy Akwaboah Cllr Sade Bright Cllr Muhib Chowdhury Cllr Edna Fergus Cllr Rocky Gill Cllr Manzoor Hussain Cllr Donna Lumsden Cllr Donna Lumsden Cllr Adegboyega Oluwole Cllr Moin Quadri Cllr Tony Ramsay Cllr Paul Robinson Cllr Muhammad Saleem Cllr Jack Shaw Cllr Mukhtar Yusuf Cllr Saima Ashraf Cllr Josie Channer Cllr Alison Cormack Cllr Cameron Geddes Cllr Kashif Haroon Cllr Jane Jones Cllr Giasuddin Miah Cllr Glenda Paddle Cllr Regina Rahman Cllr Chris Rice Cllr Darren Rodwell Cllr Muazzam Sandhu Cllr Dominic Twomey Cllr Sabbir Zamee Cllr Princess Bright Cllr Nashitha Choudhury Cllr John Dulwich Cllr Syed Ghani Cllr Victoria Hornby Cllr Elizabeth Kangethe Cllr Fatuma Nalule Cllr Michel Pongo Cllr Hardial Singh Rai Cllr Lynda Rice Cllr Emily Rodwell Cllr Faraaz Shaukat Cllr Maureen Worby

## **APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE**

Cllr Andrew AchilleosCllr Mohammed KhanCllr Olawale MartinsCllr Margaret MullaneCllr Simon PerryCllr Ingrid RobinsonCllr Lee WakerCllr Phil Waker

#### 5. Declaration of Members' Interests

There were no declarations of interest.

#### 6. Nomination of Honorary Alderwomen of the Borough

The Chair advised that nominations would now be made in order to confer honorary titles for Alderwomen of the Borough under section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

Councillor Saleem moved that Evelyn Carpenter be conferred with the title Honorary Alderwoman of the Borough. This was seconded by Councillor Fergus and, in pursuance of section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Ceremonial Council **resolved** to confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman on Evelyn Carpenter.

Councillor Ashraf moved that Eileen Keller be conferred with the title Honorary Alderwoman of the Borough. This was seconded by Councillor Twomey and, in pursuance of section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Ceremonial Council **resolved** to confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman on Eileen Keller.

## 7. Nomination of Honorary Freeman of the Borough

The Chair advised that an extraordinary meeting of the Ceremonial Council had been called to consider a nomination for the award of the Freedom of the Borough, the highest honour that a Council could bestow on an individual in recognition of their outstanding achievements.

Councillor Ashraf moved and Councillor Twomey seconded the nomination of David Dickson as Honorary Freeman of the Borough.

The Ceremonial Council **resolved** to award the Honorary Freedom of the Borough to David Dickson.

#### 8. Presentations

The Chair advised that a number of Honorary Freedom of the Borough awards would be presented to those previously nominated for their outstanding work within the community.

Awards were presented to:

- Sandie Shaw MBE,
- Claire Symonds;
- Bishop Trevor Mwamba;
- Karen Winkworth on behalf of Martin J Sullivan; and
- David Dickson.